Department of History Awards and Sponsored Research

Department of History Awards:

G - Mary Hayes Ewing Prize for the Best Article in Southern History     Recipients (last 10 years)
This is a prize for an article or book chapter in the area of US Southern history written while at Rice and published (the publication date can be after the author has left Rice).

UG/G - Charles Garside, Jr. Prize in History     Recipients (last 10 years)
Awarded to "distinguished  student of history, UG or Grad, to honor the memory of Charles Garside, Jr.," a member of the Rice faculty from 1966-1987.  The prize offers the winners time to broaden and deepen their education through travel and reflection.

UG - Ira and Patricia Gruber Award for Best Honors Thesis     Recipients (last 10 years)
Given to student who had the best honors thesis.

UG - Honors in History     Recipients (last 10 years)
Awarded to students who have successfully completed HIST 404 (History Honors Thesis) AND defended their UG thesis and have been approved by UG Committee (with input from readers (other faculty).  

UG/G- Barbara Field Kennedy Prize in American History    Recipients (last 10 years)
Awarded to the UG or Grad student whose overall academic performance is rated highest by the faculty of Dept of History.  Dr. John Hines Kennedy established this prize for the "undergraduate or graduate student (in American History) whose overall academic performance is rated highest by the faculty of the Dept of History."

UG/G - Clifford Lefton Lawrence Award in British History     Recipients (last 10 years)
For the best student UG or Grad in British History.  The student must have done distinguished work in some aspects  of British history from ancient times to the present.

G - Captain Charles Septimus Longcope Award in History     Recipients (last 10 years)
For the best paper in history written by a graduate student.  The convention is that a completed or defended dissertation is awarded.  This would cover students from last years commencement till present time.  Mrs. Edward B. Hopkins established this award.    

G - James Scott Peterson Distinguished Service Award     Recipients (last 10 years)
Given to graduate representative for his/her service to the department.

UG - Susie Smith Vandiver Award     Recipients (last 10 years)
Given to outstanding junior History major.

UG = Undergraduate award
G = Graduate award


Undergraduate students are encouraged to apply for the Ira and Patricia Gruber Fund for Undergraduate Research!

  • Student must be a history major
  • Must have already taken a 400 level course/currently enrolled in one
  • Must have already taken a course/currently enrolled in course with the advising/supervising faculty member


History Major Tim Wang participated firsthand in culture diplomacy when he and another Rice student traveled to Moscow in early September as delegates for the Stanford U.S. - Russia Forum.

Read the full story here.

To apply to the program click here.


Graduate student Sean Smith wins the 2015 Snell Prize awarded by the Southern History Association for the best graduate student paper in European history: "'The Terrors of the Climate': Mortality, Race, and the British Politics of Empire in Sierra Leone"