Additional Funding

Some graduate students gain additional funding through some of the following sources at Rice:

Certificate in the Study of Women, Gender, and Sexuality from the Center for the Study of Women, Gender, Sexuality (CSWGS).  One-time stipend of $5,000.00.

Certificate in Critical and Cultural Theory from the Center for Critical and Cultural Theory (3CT). One-time stipend of $5,000.00.

Instructor of record in a First-year Writing-Intensive Seminar (FWIS) administered by the Program in Writing and Communication (PWC).

Tutoring work at the Center for Written, Oral, and Visual Communication (CWOVC).


Special Graduate Fellowship for Continuing Students

Each spring, the department chairs are invited to nominate continuing graduate students for the following special endowed fellowship. The final recipients are chosen by the Graduate Council. The amount of the fellowship and the number of recipients vary from year to year

  •  Lodieska Stockbridge Vaughn - To provide a fellowship for a graduate student whose record at Rice shows evidence of outstanding achievement and promise. Four or five awards are usually given.

Departments may nominate two candidates for the Vaughn fellowship.  Students who have already received one of these special fellowships are not eligible for nomination for the same fellowships. Preference is given to candidates who have already started their thesis research. A call for nominations is usually sent out in February, and awards are generally announced in April for the following academic year.

Nomination packets include:

  • A one page summary of the student’s research and/or achievements, written by the candidate;
  • A letter of recommendation from the advisor or other faculty member;
  • A letter of nomination from the department chair;
  • The candidate’s CV
  • An unofficial transcript
  • A summary sheet.



  Charles Garside, Jr. Prize in History is awarded to distinguished students of history, undergraduate or graduate, to honor the memory of Charles Garside, Jr., a member of the Rice History Department from 1966 to 1987.  The prize offers outstanding students time to broaden and deepen their education through travel and reflection.  Recipients are determined in two ways:  faculty nomination or student application.  Students wishing to apply should notify the Director of Graduate Studies in writing by December 1 in the Fall.  Applicants will need to prepare a statement of plans, obtain two letters of recommendation from members of the History Department, and provide an unofficial copy of their transcript to the Director of Graduate Studies by February 1 in the Spring. The prize may not be used for tuition within the United States or in lieu of a graduate fellowship from Rice. Amount of award varies.

 Barbara Field Kennedy Prize in American History - John Hines Kennedy established this prize in 1971 for the "graduate or undergraduate student in American history whose overall academic performance is rated highest by the faculty of the Department of History." The faculty submits nominations to the Director of Graduate Studies. The amount of award varies.

 Clifford Lefton Lawrence Award in British History - Given annually to the best student—undergraduate or graduate—in British History at Rice University. To be eligible the student must have done distinguished work in some aspect of British history from ancient times to the present. Faculty members nominate students. Amount of award varies.

 Captain Charles Septimus Longcope Award in History - Mrs. Amy Longcope Hopkins established this prize in 1958 in memory of her grandfather. It is awarded annually for the best History dissertation. The faculty submits nominations for the prize. Amount of award varies.

 James Scott Peterson Distinguished Service Award - The faculty and graduate students of the History Department established this award in 1987 in memory of Jim Peterson, a fellow grad student who had passed away. It is awarded occasionally to an exceptional graduate student who embodies and fosters in others the qualities of scholarly excellence, maturity, and humanity. Nominations for eligibility may be submitted to the Director of Graduate Studies. The amount of the prize is set by the Department Chair.

 John Gardner Prize - The School of Humanities offers the $1,000 John Gardner Prize to the student with the best dissertation in the School of Humanities.   Submission is determined by department.  Dissertations are read by a committee of 3 humanities faculty from departments with graduate programs, and a joint recommendation is made to the Dean of Humanities for final approval.