Charles Garside, Jr. Prize in History

The Charles Garside, Jr. Prize in History is awarded to distinguished history majors– or current graduate students – to honor the memory of Charles Garside, Jr., a member of the Rice history department from 1966 to 1987. The prize offers outstanding students time to broaden and deepen their education through travel and reflection.

Any member of the history department can make nominations for consideration. Students who will have completed at least six (6) history courses by the time of application and who have a grade point average (GPA) of at least 3.2 are eligible to apply directly.

The application for the award consists of:

  • A 2 page statement of plans and a 1 page budget
  • Two (2) letters of recommendation from members of the history department
  • A current transcript

The application is due in the history department by 5:00 PM, the Monday after spring break of the application year.

In making awards, the prize committee will give preference to undergraduates and multiple awards can be issued every year. Recipients must complete their period of travel and reflection within fifteen (15) months of receiving the prize (which is normally awarded at graduation). Awardees must submit a brief account of their travels (in a NON-PDF format, preferrably Word) to the history department and to the Garside Family. The prize may not be used for tuition within the United Sates nor may it be used in lieu of a graduate fellowship from Rice. The prize committee is under no obligation to make an award in any given academic year.


Student Name(s)


Melissa Carmona, Joseph Flores, Oliver Hutt-Sierra, Paige Russell, Lindsey Schirn, Grace Stewart


Nathaniel Askanase, Katelyn Landry, Kamil Cook, Victoria Saeki-Serna, Pauline Huff, Kierstin Wilkins, Victoria Zabarte


Carolyn Elizabeth Daly, Olivia Lee Daneker, Tanvi Hemand Jadhav, Mikayla V. Knutson, Allen Logan Sellers, Molly Collins Wancewicz, Joy Wang


Nikhil Chellam, Trevor John Egerton, Friday Genung, Akhil Krishna Jonnalagadda, Leon Bernard Soifer


Camille Chenevert, Clair Hopper, Laurel Keehae Kim, Eliza Cecille Martin, Darren Pomida, Robert C. Williamson


Conrado A. Asenjo-Molina, James Altschul, Gary Dreyer, Rachel M. Lee, Oliver Franklin Rusnock Lucier, Walden Scott Pemantle, Derek Qiu, Martin Rather


Ben Hawriluk, Tianwei Liu, Rebecca L. Powell


Monica Melendez, Mary Charlotte Carroll, Camille Denton, Jungbin Lim, Joel Thompson


Emma Hurt, Kara van Schlifgaarde, Walter Hurst Williamson, Yuanzhou Wu


Angela Wu Guo, Alaina Laszewski, Amber Mirajkar, Allison G. Raven, Maria Montalvo (GS)


Louise Bentsen, Kaitlin Doody, Mariel Rodriguez, Elizabeth Tacy, Stephanie Wu


Batoul Abuharb, Allison Korinek, Marielle Schweickar, Hannah Thalenberg, Graham West, Jaclyn Youngblood


Thomas Campbell, Criag Labatte


Burton DeWitt, Kelin Marie Herrington, Nicholas Muscara, Katherine O'Sullivan


William Glas-Hochstettler, Coris E. Salmeron, Embre J. Smith


Adriana Grivas, Jaymin Kim, Jacob Neu


Stephen Adams, Matthew Harrigan, Elizabeth Klacynski, Laura Szarmach


Daniel Holman, Jo Ling Ken, Jordana Mosten, Jonathan Verma


Daniel Franke, Ian Furman, Phillip Levine, Taryn Roos